A must do trip if you are interested in birds and plants

Really well run by enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff. Great views from Mou Waho Island. Just amazing to stop for a cuppa with the wekas.
SUE TWINEY – Jan 28, 2019

Great experience- highly recommend

We booked this trip without having any expectations and were pleasantly surprised. The guide ( I think he was one of the key) was fantastic – great sense of humor and kept the information flowing and it was all pretty interesting. Small group and a beautiful day on the lake.
Mary Rosenbaum, Dec 29, 2018

A beautiful trip from start to finish

Great trip with a very knowledgeable guide. A beautiful landscape and amazing to be able to see these rare birds. An apropriate finish with planting a tree to give back to nature!
Johan Andersson, Feb 07, 2018

Must do in Wanaka!

I heard many good reviews on this excursion so I was really excited to join this excursion. And it really exceeded my expectation! Chris was such a fantastic guide, really passionate and knowledgeable about Wanaka’s nature and animals. We learned a lot from Chris about the beautiful landscape, the wekas as well as the wetas. The trek was breath taking and there are always some little surprises along the way. We all enjoyed our time with Chris and wished it was longer! In my opinion, this is really a highlight and a must do in Wanaka!
Mei Yun Cheong, May 23, 2019

Incredible Experience

Very informative and entertaining guide. Unforgettable scenery and close encounters with Weka were amazing.
Kathryn Riessen, May 12, 2019

Great day! I would highly recommend Eco Wanaka Adventures.

A wonderfully informative nature walk on the island of Mou Waho. Our Guide, Craig, was very knowledgeable about birds, mammals and vegetation on the island. It is not an easy hike for older folks, but most did just fine. Lovely viewpoint at the top. Weka come right up to you as you enjoy tea and cookies part way to the top. Well worth the time and the money. Our boat driver, Chris, did an excellent job also.
Debra Breen, Feb 12, 2019

Fantastic

Had an absolutely fabulous Heli/Hike. Worth every single penny for sure. Chris Riley was amazing! Even brought Hot tea, coffee, cookies, cakes etc. one of my favorite days ever….and I’m old!
Jacqueline Monk, Jan 19, 2018

Fabulous time at Mou Waho island and Alipine Lakes hike!

…In the afternoon, I set off on an Alpine Lakes heli hike which was one of the most incredible experiences of my life. I’d had some doubts if I was physically up to the hike but ironically I found it a little easier than Mou Waho. One of the highlights was seeing a Kea bird in the wild. My excellent guide, Petrina, said she would love to see a photo of the bird soaring over us if I had one that came out well so I am attaching one to this review in hopes that she will get to see it. The entire excursion was absolutely amazing as it felt like we were miles away from civilization as we walked along the mountains that seemed like they were on top of the world. Words can’t even convey how magical the afternoon felt. It was expensive but absolutely worth the price.
I cannot recommend Eco Wanaka highly enough. If I should ever be in the area again, I hope I can take the Misty Mountains heli hike.
Dec 2018

Wonderful hike

My family and I really enjoyed the Misty Mountains Heli-Hike. We saw wonderful scenery, got to recreate the walking path from some of the movies, and even spotted a couple of Keas! Great experience – highly recommended.
Andrew Certain, Jan 03, 2018

We had a great time on this trip!

We enjoyed our trip with Eco Wanaka in 2016 so we booked again in 2017 for a different trip to Rob Roy Glacier. Kate was great, the trip was great, we even got to see a avalanche off the glacier! Only 4 people in the group so a lovely time!
Joan Carroll, Dec 22, 2017

Wonderful hike with a patient, attentive guide

65+yo couple hiked the Rob Roy Glacier with Tim. Beautiful day for a moderately difficult hike to a fabulous vantage point. Tim, our guide, could not have been a more patient and attentive companion. He pointed out interesting details on the way, surprised us with hot coffee at the top along with lunch. Assisted us over the difficult parts and we never felt rushed or hurried. Highly recommended.
Jan 2019